Dead and Gone.

For one of my final year projects I wanted to try my hand at sewing soft toys. I decided to focus on something which would be more on the educational side so that its purpose was more than just an object to play with. I thought it would be good to create a product which you would see in a museum shop, so I opted to base the toys on extinct animals. People could see an animal, such as a Dodo, in one of the museum exhibits, and then be able to take a version of that animal home with them. I wanted to include information about extinction and the animals with the toys, so I decided to create packaging which had the purpose of holding the toy as well as informing the consumer all about extinction, etc.

I decided to choose 3 animals, a Dodo, Tasmanian Tiger and a Steller’s Sea Cow. I also kept the packaging quite uniform across the range so that they would all fit together and look part of a set when displayed together in a shop senario.

The packaging was all hand screenprinted and hand cut and the toys were also all designed and hand sewn.

Imageboxes2Image

2 thoughts on “Dead and Gone.

  1. Pingback: Art, mathematics and a spider crab at the D’Arcy Thompson Zoology Museum – We Make Money Not Art

  2. Pingback: Art, mathematics and a spider crab at the D’Arcy Thompson Zoology Museum | Radio Free

Leave a Reply

